Background 2
René GroebliRAIL MAGIC



René Groebli is among Switzerland's best known photographers and his poetic, groundbreaking photo essay Rail Magic has entered the annals of photography. In 1949, René Groebli traveled by rail from Paris to Basel, photographing energy, speed, and sounds, and the romance of the fuming trains – the very symbol of power. He photographed the intangible which we can feel and smell and hear when we view this magical, mystical, dreamlike photo series.

René Groebli was born in Zürich in 1927, studied photography with Hans Finsler at the Zürich University of the Arts and, in 1948, was one of the first Swiss citizens to receive a diploma as camera man for documentary filmmaking. He went on to become one of the greatest black-and-white photographers and one of the most subtle masters of the darkroom. When he was only 26 years old, in 1953, he was invited to take part in the legendary exhibit "The Family of Man", which was curated by Edward Steichen for the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York and later shown in numerous museums worldwide. René Groebli counts among the most experimentative personalities in the history of photography and gained attention with his fascinating movement studies and avant-garde color photos. The renowned American magazine Color Annual named him "Master of Color" in 1957. His photography is represented in many international collections, large museums periodically host retrospectives of his work, publishers print his books and Groebli himself remains very active to this day with his large archive in Zürich, preparing exhibits and diverse publications.

The exhibit comprises 67 black and white photographs – artist proofed prints, which are framed in a 60 x 42 cm format, and 8-12 black-and-white photographs in 120 x 80 cm format. The exhibit is ready for hanging and the transportation, storage and exhibit hanging times have already been completely insured for "all risks".

High resolution scans of a variety of images will be made available for the purposes of PR, invitations and posters. Marketing texts, a CV, photograph captions, as well as texts and quotations by René Groebli about his life, photography, and work will likewise be made available as editable files in both German and English.

The exhibit tour is accompanied by a facsimile edition of the out-of-print photo book, Rail Magic, published in 1949.

Further information available upon request

Background 2
René GroebliMagie der Schiene



René Groebli zählt zu den bekanntesten Fotografen der Schweiz und seine poetische, wegweisende Fotogeschichte Magie der Schiene ist in die Annalen der Fotografie eingegangen. René Groebli fuhr 1949 mit der Eisenbahn von Paris nach Basel und fotografierte Dynamik, Geschwindigkeit, Geruch, Stimmung, Gefühle und die Romantik der dampfenden Züge, dieser Symbole der Kraft. Er fotografierte, was nicht greifbar ist, was man aber spüren, riechen, fühlen und hören kann, wenn man diese magische, mystische, traumhaft assoziative Bilderreihe sieht.

René Groebli wurde 1927 in Zürich geboren, studierte bei Hans Finsler in der Fotoklasse der Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich, erhielt 1948 als einer der ersten Schweizer das Diplom als Dokumentarfilm-Kameramann und wurde einer der brillantesten Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografen, einer der subtilsten Meister in der Dunkelkammer. Als 26-Jähriger, 1953, wurde er schon zur Teilnahme an der legendären Ausstellung „The Family of Man“ eingeladen, die Edward Steichen für das Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York kuratierte und die später weltweit in zahlreichen Museen gezeigt wurde. René Groebli gehört zu den experimentierfreudigsten Persönlichkeiten der Fotogeschichte und profilierte sich mit faszinierenden Bewegungsstudien und avantgardistischen Farbfotos. Schon 1957 wurde er im renommierten amerikanischen Magazin Color Annual „Master of Color“ genannt. Seine Fotografie ist in vielen internationalen Sammlungen vertreten, grosse Museen erinnern periodisch aufwendig an sein Werk , Verlage publizieren seine Bilder und er selbst arbeitet auch heute noch sehr aktiv in Zürich in seinem grossen Archiv an Ausstellungsvorbereitungen, Editionen und diversen Publikationen.

Die Ausstellung umfasst 67 Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografien, artist proofed prints, die in dem Format 60 x 42 cm gerahmt sind und 8-12 Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografien im Format 120 x 80 cm. Die Ausstellung ist hängefertig und bereits für Transport-, Lager- und Hängezeiten „all risks“ komplett versichert.

Für Pressearbeit, Einladungskarten- und Plakatdruck werden High Resolution Scans verschiedener Motive zur Verfügung gestellt, ebenso, als offene, bearbeitbare Dateien, Pressetext, Lebenslauf, Texte und Zitate von René Groebli über seine Fotografie und Arbeit und alle Bildunterschriften in deutscher und in englischer Sprache.

Die Ausstellungstournee begleitet ein Faksimile-Druck des Fotobuches, das 1949 zur Magie der Schiene erschienen war.

Weitere Informationen auf Anfrage.